Agenda and minutes

Annual Council meeting, Council
Monday, 23rd May, 2016 7.00 pm

Venue: Europa Gallery, Central Library, Sutton

Contact: Alexa Coates, Head of Committee and Management Support  Tel: 020 8770 5094 | Email:

No. Item


Minutes pdf icon PDF 224 KB

Confirmation of the minutes of the Council meeting held on 7 March 2016.

Additional documents:


Mayor's Announcements


(a)  Apologies for absence


Apologies for absence were received by Councillors David Hicks, Callum Morton and Jason Reynolds.


(b)  Announcements


The Mayor announced that Sutton was the first borough in the country to offer mental health awareness training to staff in pubs and clubs.


109 businesses and organisations have signed up to the Council's Clean Streets Sutton campaign. They have pledged to take simple steps that can be taken to reduce litter around shop fronts and business premises, including reducing packaging, installing new bins, or reporting problem areas to the council.


All Sutton residents were offered a primary school place for their child for this September's intake, with more than 95 per cent being offered one of their preferred schools.


Almost 5,000 representations were made by borough residents and stakeholders to Sutton 2031 - Sutton Council’s major consultation into the development and growth of the borough over the next 15 years.


Whitehall Museum closed last month for major refurbishment after the council successfully secured a £1.5m grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund.


A new service to give residents access to expert information and advice had been launched. Known as 'Advice Link in Partnership with Sutton', or ALPS, the service is funded by the council and the Big Lottery's Reaching Communities Fund.


The Mayor announced that Richard Radford a library assistant had retired following 50 years of unstinting service to the borough. He invited members to join him in wishing Richard all the best for his retirement.



Declarations of Interest

Councillors to declare any personal or prejudicial interests that they have on matters to be discussed at this evening’s Council meeting.


There were no declarations of interest.


Motion: Vote of thanks to the Mayor

In accordance with notice given, Councillor Marian Radford will move and Councillor Joyce Melican will second the following Motion:


That the Council place on record its grateful thanks to Councillor Muhammad Sadiq for his service as Mayor of the London Borough of Sutton during the past municipal year, for the able, courteous and impartial manner in which he has conducted the proceedings of the Council, and for his continuing devotion at all times to the welfare of the Borough.



Cllr Marian Radford moved a vote of thanks to the Mayor Councillor Muhammad Sadiq which was seconded by Councillor Joyce Melican.


The vote of thanks was put to the vote and unanimously carried.


The Mayor, Councillor Muhammad Sadiq responded to the vote of thanks.



Election of Mayor for the municipal year 2016/17

To elect the Worshipful the Mayor of the London Borough of Sutton for the municipal year 2016/17.



The Mayor called for nominations for the office of Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.


Councillor Steve Penneck proposed Councillor Ricahrd Clifton, Councillor Samantha Bourne seconded the nomination.


There being no further nominations, the Motion was put to the vote and carried. 




That Councillor Richard Clifton be duly elected as Mayor of the London Borough of Sutton for the municipal year 2016/17.



The Mayor (Councillor Richard Clifton) in the Chair.


The Mayor signed the declaration of office.


The Mayor returned thanks for his election.  During his speech, the Mayor stated his pride at being elected the first citizen of the borough and explained he was looking forward to starting his Mayoral blog which he encouraged all Councillors to read.


The Mayor announced that he was appointed Reverend Justine Middlemiss as he chaplin for the year.


The Mayor stated his chosen charities were Sutton Shopmobility who provided support to residents in the borough who would otherwise be housebound and the Alzeheimers Society who supported residents with Dementia.


Appointment of Deputy Mayor

To elect the Worshipful the Mayor of the London Borough of Sutton for the municipal year 2016/17.



The Mayor reported that he was departing from tradition and had appointed two Deputy Mayors, Councillor Nali Patel and Councillor Steve Cook. Councillor Steve Cook was appointed as Deputy Mayor, for the purposes of the Local Government Act 1972.


Membership of Party Groups on the Council, their Leaders and Deputy Leaders pdf icon PDF 24 KB

To follow


To report the membership of Party Groups, their Leaders and Deputy Leaders.



The Mayor indicated that an updated report had been circulated.




That the report is noted



Establishment of Standing Committees, Regulatory Committees and Other Bodies, Local Committees and related matters pdf icon PDF 212 KB

Report to follow


To agree the allocation of seats on Committees, Local Committees and other bodies


Additional documents:


The Mayor indicated that the report was formally moved.



The recommendations were put to the vote and carried.




1.    That establishment of Standing Committees, Scrutiny Committees, Regulatory Committee, Other Bodies, Local Committees be approved as set out in the report,


2.    That the allocation of seats be agreed as set out at paragraph 4.9 of the report


3.    That the nominations to the LGA Annual General Assembly and allocation of votes be agreed as set out in paragraph 4.8 of the report.


4.    To  agree the appointment of chairs and vice chairs and members of committees as set out in Appendix A


5.    That it be agreed where there are any outstanding places the relevant political group may give written notice to the Monitoring Officer of their appointments.


6.    That it be agreed the political groups may notify the Monitoring Officer of any in-year changes to committee membership by giving written notice 10 clear days before the relevant committee is due to meet.


7.    That the Monitoring Officer be delegated authority to make any consequential changes to the constitution arising out of this report such as changes to committee names, size, procedures and removal of reference to committees not established.