Committee details

Urgency Committee

Purpose of committee

In the event that a limited number of Councillors are available to attend meetings, the Chief Executive (or Strategic Director in their absence) may suspend all committees and convene an Urgency Committee.


The Urgency Committee will consist of three members:


Leader of the Council (Chair)

Deputy Leader of the Council; and

Leader of the Opposition


Substitute members may be any member of the majority party group and any member of the opposition respectively.


The Urgency Committee shall make any decision within the power of the Council that is not reserved in legislation to Full Council.


Contact information

Support officer: Matthew Stickley, Committee Services Manager. Email: